Succeed Awards 2014 winners are announced here


The Succeed awards will recognise the successful implementation of a digitisation programme, especially those exploiting the latest technology and the output of research for the digitisation of historical text.

  • The winners will be invited to the awards ceremony during the Digitisation Days, when distinguished personalities and leading institutions in the digitisation domain will participate.

  • The awards will not convey an additional cash prize, the stress being in the recognition of leading initiatives and the world-wide dissemination of these achievements. The Succeed project looks for the widest impact of this recognition.


The committee will take into account:

  • Evidence of the results (efficiency, quality) produced by integration of technology in the digitisation workflow.

  • Extensibility (potential replication/adaptation) of the experience to other institutions.

  • Impact on the preservation of cultural heritage.

  • Sustainability, coordination with other initiatives, collaborative character.


The candidatures must be received before February 15, 2014 (23:59, CET) and the results will be announced before April 15, 2014.


Institutions with active digitisation programmes are eligible for the awards. Consortia are also eligible if represented for this purpose by a single institution. Members of the Succeed consortium cannot apply for the awards.


Milagros del Corral, UNESCO

Jill Cousins, Europeana

Frank Frischmuth, German Digital Library

Michael Keller, Stanford University Library

Steven Krauwer, Utrecht University

Andrew Prescott, King’s College London


Nominations must be signed by a representative of the candidate institution and submitted online using the succeed platform.

The nomination must be written in English according to this template.

Additional information

For questions, please contact